Board of Supervisors


The Board of Supervisors consists of five representatives, one from each of the county's five voting districts. Supervisors are elected for four-year terms. The board is the policy-making body of the county and is vested with all rights and powers as specified by the state law known as the County Board Form (Section 15.2-400 through Section 15.2-418). The board takes action by the adoption of ordinances or resolutions.


The Code of Virginia states that the County Board of Supervisors shall have among its powers, the powers to:

  • Approve and enforce the county's comprehensive plan and land use control ordinances
  • Audit claims against the county
  • Construct and maintain county buildings
  • Issue warrants in settlement of all claims and accounts
  • Levy taxes and appropriate funds
  • Make and enforce ordinances for police, sanitation, health, and environmental government as authorized by law
  • Prepare and approve the county budget

Elected Officials

The board elects annually a chairman who presides at each board meeting and serves as the official head of the county government. A vice chairman is elected as well and serves in the absence of the chairman. This election occurs in January of each calendar year.

County Administrator

The administrative head of the County Board Form of government is the county administrator. The county administrator is appointed by the Board of Supervisors and serves at the pleasure of the board. The administrator is a full-time employee whose duties are to implement county policies as determined by the Board of Supervisors and oversee the day-to-day county business operations through a staff of professional directors. This position has no definite term and the administrator may be removed by a majority vote of the board at any time.

County Board Form

The County Board Form includes constitutional offices that provide certain administrative functions. Dickenson County has four constitutional officers who are elected to four-year terms that are not limited. The fifth constitutional officer, the clerk of the circuit court, is elected for an eight-year term. The elected positions are:

Monthly Meeting

Held regularly on the 4th Tuesday of each month.

6:00 PM at the Dickenson Center for Education & Research, 2nd Floor Conference Room, located 818 Happy Valley Drive, Clintwood, VA.